I’m a Little Teapot

22 08 2010

I’m a little teapot,
Short and stout,
Here is my handle,
Here is my spout,
When I get all steamed up,
Hear me shout,
Tip me over and pour me out!

I'm a Little Teapot

I cried while I sang “I’m a Little Teapot” when I graduated from preschool. I looked out into the big audience of smiling parents and could see strangers everywhere–everyone except my parents (who were there but standing the back where it was too dark for me to see). There’s a whole metaphor there, a poem, (and probably two years of therapy) but I won’t get into it. And perhaps it’s an apt story about being a newbie in SL. (You enter, knowing no one, and stare out at a whole bunch of very strange strangers. It’s the ultimate in performance anxiety.)

What brought the song to mind was this cute little dress with its blue and white chintz pattern made by Quinlan Quimby. I loved the shape of the dress with the shirred sides and sheer underskirt. The textures Quinlan uses are soft and shiny and very perfect for this outfit. Had she extended it to ballgown length, it would make perfect sense in a historic RP sim. However, she has opted for a more contemporary silhouette with the short skirt.

I'm a Little Teapot

I wear it with a new skin from Lorac Farella, part of her Tomorrow line. I really like this set with its more subtle and burnished make-ups and painterly details. Lorac includes a wee beauty mark near the lips, a lovely touch. The porcelain skin is a perfect piece for this silly little teapot trope I have going.

I'm a Little Teapot

Finally new and funky boots from LeeZu Baxter, done under her own label. One thing LeeZu does so fantastically well is create artistic textures with subtle shadowing and wild colors. The boots, the torn stockings from Canimal Zephyr, the cameo from Jackal Ennui (with the BEST ironic store name on the grid, imho) all add up to a cute little outfit, fit for this teapot (who has been known to get steamed up).

I'm a Little Teapot

I’m a very special teapot,
Yes, it’s true,
Here’s an example of what I can do,
I can turn my handle into a spout,
Tip me over and pour me out!

Hair: fri. – Marie – Anxious Blond by Parvarti Monday for fri.day

Skin: Pulse Skin-Tomorrow/M1 by Lorac Farella for Pulse *

Dress: TOSL *Teacup* Dress v1.1 Blue&White by Quinlan Quimby for TOSL

Stockings: Canimal – Ripped stockings – white by Canimal Zephyr for Canimal

Choker: Cameo choker – pure / silver by Jackal Ennui for Lassitude & Ennui

Boots: [LeeZu!] Dncorde Danse Booties /sky by LeeZu Baxter for LeeZu! *

Actions

Information

2 responses

22 08 2010
Emerald Wynn

*weeps*

I was trying not to spend much money this weekend . . . but now I need that dress. Not want. Need.

And the boots.

22 08 2010
Emerald Wynn

P.S. Your metaphor/therapy reference made me burst out laughing. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,685 other followers

