Grayness

Grayness

That ambiguous centerpoint
between black and white:
shadow and concrete,
pencil marks, storm-
laden skies, burnished
silver, doves’ feathers.

Grayness

And thus begins a poem written for a dear friend. The poem is all about gray, be it pewter or heather or dove or oyster, pearly or pepper, silver or smoky. This ensemble is an homage to gray. I start with a beautifully drawn tank and skirt from Elie Spot (which I bought at separate times but which went together wonderfully). I love how the sculpty skirt still seems to have movement and lightness, and this is due to the well done shadows in the skirt itself and the clever engineering of the skirt.

Grayness

I top it all with this awesome new style from Elikapeka Tiramisu, which she debuted for 50L Friday. I think women all over SL are popping that on their head and saying, “Dang, I look great!” Face framing, versatile, I anticipate it will become a classic SL style. My skin is a pale one from Alexandra Barcelos, who has heretofore always dropped tan skins on her fans. I think it came out nicely.

Grayness

“Her laughter was a shiny thing, like pewter flung high in the air.” ~ Pat Conroy

Hair: [e] Again – White 05 by Elikapeka Tiramisu for [elikatira]

Skin: Ana . Milky . Sea by Alexandra Barcelos for Filthy Skins *

Eyes: FASHISM ‘Sunrise’ Eyes – Pale Grey (M) by Ikon Innovia for FASHISM *

Top: {mon tissu} Joli Beaded Tunic ~ Light Gray by Elie Spot for {mon tissu}

Skirt: {mon tissu} Scattered Birds Skirt  ~ Gray by Elie Spot for {mon tissu}

Necklace: Florina necklace – silver by Fallingwater Cellardoor for (Shiny Things)

Bangles: Florina bangles and Ruma bangles by Fallingwater Cellardoor for (Shiny Things)

Shoes: AOHARU_WALK_SuedeLaceupSandal_White by machang Pichot for AOHARU

8 thoughts on “Grayness

  1. Greetings…I follow your blog although, this is the first time I’ve elected to comment..I think you were spot on in terms of the Freebies/Hunts…Secondly..I have a question…the blog you did on AOHARU_WALK_SuedeLaceupSandal are you most certain that those are from Machang Pichot? I’ve search Ms. Pichot’s store Anexx and blog…and she doesn’t list them…Are you sure those are not some other creator’s work/shoes…? I’m just inquiring, as I stated I follow you and y our resources…thus this is why the question came up…Keep doing what you do…its most necessary here…Huggies GG

  2. Harper… heartfelt and sincere apologies… I found them and they are indeed created by Ms. Pichot…Kudos to you and please forgive me from the bottom of my heart…

    • I will admit sometimes the items I show are no longer available. I dig in my own inventory for things that will complete a look I like because I simply can’t afford to buy all new for every blog. The shoes shown were a bit old so they may not have been found. (I am glad you DID find them!)

      Please let me explain my process for attribution: I actually copy the properties of the item from the description and cut and paste. Then I click through the maker’s name and find the location of their store in their classified or picks. It seems the cleanest way to name and item and attach it to a designer and the SLURL. If a designer does not keep their picks up to date, then my SLURL comes out wrong. If the item is no longer in their store, at least they have gotten attribution and a link to their store. I include the name of the item, the creators’ name and the store name so if there is any discrepancy, any of them can be looked up. (And I also think it’s incredibly important to acknowledge an individual’s work.) I do this all before I remove the outfit. The chances of my misnaming an item, then, are pretty small.

      Finally, if the item was given to me by the designer, I put an asterisk after it to indicate that it was a gift or review copy per legal and frankly, ethical, standards.

      Thanks for reading my blog and finally commenting! :)

    • She offered it for 50L Friday, so I am wondering if she is going to put it out again :( I should imagine so because it was so popular.

      • I cannot find the Again hair at all… in any colour. The style looks great. Hoping to buy it!

      • She offered it for 50L Friday, so I imagine it’s gone.. For now. It was very popular so perhaps people can convince her to put it out at regular price.

  3. Pingback: No Blog Is An Island « A Passion for Virtual Fashion

Leave a Reply

