Embarrassing Stories

 

 

My dad reminded me of his favorite story about me. When I was a teenager, I would drive downtown to attend rehearsals for a music ensemble at the local university. It always made my mom nervous because I would have to drive through some less-than-ideal neighborhoods in my old clunky Nova in the evening, and she always worried that my car would break down or I would have an accident.

It so happened that a very cute boy in this wind ensemble decided he liked me and so, when we had a pizza party one evening, he let his crush be known and we ended up out in the parking lot in my car, making out. Time ran away from us and before long, it was midnight, so I kicked him out and raced home (this was before cell phones).

There sat my dad with a smirk on his face. “Where have you been young lady?”

(And this is the part that cracks him up.) “I was making out with a boy and I lost track of time. I am sorry.” And I turned and went straight upstairs to bed.

Embarrassing Stories

That story came up because he was thanking me for never causing him trouble. I was boring—let’s face it. So I try to have more fun in SL. This dress from LeeZu Baxter has the terrific look that makes SL fun. The great texture on the dress, the excellent system pieces, and most importantly the mesh portion that LeeZu has made. Instead of fitting the entire mesh piece over the torso, this mesh goes between the legs into the thighs, simply to create the sexy silhouette you see here. This is a great use of mesh—the reason mesh exists—the skirt never breaks and doesn’t lie over the hips and butt the way the system skirt does.

Embarrassing Stories

What makes it work even better is this luscious new ephemeral skin from Gala Phoenix. I love the beautiful lips on this skin with their pretty gloss. I compliment it with rose-colored eyes from Ikon Innovia. I love chiaki Xue’s curly blonde hair with its pretty waves.

Embarrassing Stories

“One trouble with trouble is that is usually starts out like fun”

Hair: *Dura-Boys&Girls*24(Blonde) by chiaki Xue for Dura *

Skin: :GP: Petal [Dark] Sprout-New 2 by Gala Phoenix for Curio *

Eyes: FASHISM ‘Sunrise’ Eyes – Deep Rose (ML) by Ikon Innovia for IKON *

Dress: [LeeZu!] Sophia Dress /pink by LeeZu Baxter for LeeZu! *

Boots: FINESMITH JOURNEY BOOTS- Winter sunset by yula Finesmith for Finesmith

5 thoughts on “Embarrassing Stories

  1. my younger sister was always the one to get ‘caught’ in stories like this…. I was smarter and my parents trusted me more (good grades, etc) so if I wanted to be out later, doing something they would probably not be happy with, I would get to a phone (yeah no cell phones then) and call them with some excuse like “i’m gonna be over at Patty’s house, we’re just gonna watch a movie. They never checked up on me, they liked Patty. LOL)
    My sister would regularly get pissed at me and complain “why do I always get caught and you don’t??!!!” Sometimes it was good to be the first born and the smartest! LOL.
    I love your blog Harper, always fun to read.

    • The problem was I didn’t call. I lost track of time. I remember distinctly looking for a pay phone and it was right in the neighborhood I know live so every time I see this one gas station I remember clearly that one pay phone and how panicked I was. And also how happy.. hahahaha!

  2. Maybe this means i was more devious too *giggles* I was actually a good girl but i had my moments ;)

    Me: “Mom, I’m going to the library to work on a paper (no computers then either, yes, I’m part dinosaur), then we’ll probably go over to Patty’s and watch a movie.”

    Mom: “Ok just call if you’re going to be real late”

    Where did i really go? I drove 40 miles into Chicago to go see Jefferson Airplane perform for free in Grant Park. I did not get caught by my parents. heheheh

Leave a Reply

