Silicon Slumber

Silicon Slumber

THE FOLLOWING IS PROTECTED INFORMATION. IT IS NOT PUBLICLY DISSEMINATED.

Begin Private Log: Process Code 04021172

Silicon Slumber

She’s sleeping now…charging…

She took the news well. I don’t know how I could ever face the realization that I had been human, and all the things I held dear and took for granted were replaced. Perhaps she was just thankful to be alive. But what sort of life is this?

I look at these hands, the product of a generation’s toil and sacrifice, dreamed up by scientists who died many years before I was ever activated. They had needs and feelings. Wants, desires… They acted on impulse and listened to what their guts told them about a situation before acting. They had ghosts.

Some more devoted philosophers might say that their spirits left their bodies upon the moment of their death, and floated into whatever afterlife lay in wait for all of us. But that afterlife is not mine to have.

Silicon Slumber

If there is a god or gods, I was not created in his image. I was made in the image of a human. The offspring of their dreams, their wants and desires, nothing so supernatural and holy. I know who my creators were.

And that is a comfort to know who made you. To know where you originated, where you came from. I emerged from pure energy being fired through circuits which became life.

But I know when that life is extinguished, I won’t be going to heaven.

And if I don’t die, I’ll keep going on, burning away in obscurity somewhere, working to fulfill ends that are not mine.

I sat on the ledge this evening and listened to a happy couple flirting with each other. Their voices, laughter, intermingled on the breeze, nearly becoming one single entity.

Could it be that experience alone could be enough counterbalance to permit death just this one transgression? Or is it that the spirits of lovers intertwined follows the winds to the afterlife in tandem parallel transcendence…

Silicon Slumber

Those winds are not meant for me.

END LOG

Guest blog by Circuits Resident. Written by Circuits Resident while listening to “Forever Lost” by Conjure One. Photo’d by Harper Beresford. Meet Circuits in play at Insilico.

Hair: Yumi Hair – Hair Band – Iceberg by MissAllSunday Lemon for Wasabi Pills

Skin: Android SX-9 by ono Zinner for [NeurolaB]

Eyes: Sunrise eyes in black by Ikon Innovia for IKON

Bodysuit: Latex Demon white by ladygaga halostar for Glitter Monster

Dress: Holly in Slate by Coldlogic Resident for Coldlogic

Makeup: Heavy Black/Black – Lips by Yoko Leeeroy for .:Glamorize:.

Lashes: 2011 lashes/natural by Minnu Palen for [LeLutka]

Necklace: Olympia in silver/black by Andy Berenohn for GeWunjo

Shoes: Oshun Shoes in white by amandine Arai for PixelFashion

Poses by Rogan Diesel for Diesel Works Animations

Leave a Reply

