Mad Men

When the show Mad Men first came on, I was not able to watch it. Out of the blue, several friends told me they had seen Harper on Mad Men and sent me photos of Joan Holloway.

Well I have finally gotten around to watching Mad Men. (OK, I have only seen one episode so far so I am not quite understanding the comparison that had so many IM me with photos. I think it’s the red hair–I hope that’s all.) I thought I would try to do a little Mad Men post here for fun. It kind of spun out of control.

Mad Men

First there was the hairspray. Then the cigarette. Then the darn scotch. (Oh, the scotch, the scotch… where’s the aspirin?) Then I had the dress from Micah Kanto. OK, admittedly a little low cut for the 50s, but the print was so 50s and the neck scarf made it so fashionably office and after-hours. Micah’s Modern Gypsy shows the work of a young man emerging into fashion. I love how he used this print.

Mad Men

Then there were the long red manicured nails (by peche Bury), the obligatory charm bracelet (a beauty from Skinkie Winkler), and the hair.. oh the hair!

This magnificent piece of work has been sitting in my inventory for a bit, waiting for the perfect moment. Leetah Moxie hair makes hair no one else does—some wicked Lara Croft hair, Lucille Ball, and even Pebbles and Bam Bam. I highly recommend a trip to her store. The name—Curl Up and Dye—matches her sense of humor perfectly.

Mad Men

Then there were the eyes. I had to have that heavy Dior eyeliner curling out of the eye. Lorac’s new skin did the job and matched the muted tones I see on Joan Holloway (a redhead can’t do bright red as well).

Mad Men

Scotch on the rocks:

Hair: Natalie Auburn by Leetah Moxie for Curl Up and Dye

Skin: Pulse Skin-Valeries T Cream/Touched BRN by Lorac Farella for Pulse Skins

Dress: !Modern Gypsy! Devereaux Collection: Beaute D’or by Micah Kanto for !Modern Gypsy!

Bracelet: ~flirt~ TiffanyCharmBracelet:VINTAGEGOLD/PINK by Skinkie Winkler for ~flirt~

Nails: Candy nail #P000 Basic Prim nails : Red nails by peche Bury for Candy Nails

Shoes: (Shiny Things) Vintage Pumps, black by Fallingwater Cellardoor for Shiny Things

Desk and Chair: Classic Retro  Aluminum Desk and Classic Retro Steno Chair by Szabo Horn for Szabo

Stapler, Tape Holder and Desk Calendar all by Inkygirl Omizu for Inkygirl Omizu Office Supplies

Phone: SSB Retro Phone by Asiana Masala for Shape Skin & Beyond

Cigarette and Ashtray by Funk Schnook for FNKY

Scotch: Lagavulin Whiskey by Casandra Jackson for CAS (Yes, I know it’s not scotch. You try to find a good scotch in this world!)

Leave a Reply

