Brownie

I am sure you know that I *personally* find all the tremendous fashions that I show you all by myself. I mean, I *personally* have a special algorithm I plug into search that brings up only “content Harper would like to show.” Yeah. Right.

SL is built on the whole idea of being social, of having community, and the whole business of dressing ourselves, shopping, etc, is a very social venture. We not only enjoy dressing ourselves up, we enjoy telling each other about where we got our items and swapping tips. Sometimes a designer wants to see how you like this or that thing or wants to see how you will show it, so she or he sends it over. Sometimes a friend wants you to admire their ingenuity or just share in the butt-squirming joy of finding something really fun! Though I spend most of my time isolated in my studio, shuffling inventory around and taking photos, I realized I am actually quite a social monster, and I get inspiration from all over.

Brownie

Take this cute outfit by Kyon Torok. Renee Lowenhart of Fabfree made the critical mistake of telling me she was at Kyon’s store, and I tp’d over and bought up half the store. The top with sweater, skirt and socks cost all of 90L, and I walked out a happy girl. I loved the brown tones, the striped socks, the little strawberry on the back pocket of the skirt. The pieces are simple but well rendered and very versatile.

Brownie

Then we have the hair. I read about this very hair on Vaki Zenovka’s blog and ran over, not having been to Natsumikan Checchinato’s shop for a while. The textures and the messy shape suit this look perfectly.

The skin, from Launa Fauna, I purchased after my dear friend Erehwon Yoshikawa sold me on Launa’s work. I know Launa has been around a while, but she has definitely upped her game, providing beautifully drawn brows, luscious eyes, and bee stung lips for the discriminating avatar who likes a younger look. This skin suits this casual outfit perfectly.

Brownie

Finally, the shoes from sakka Flow. These I did find myself. But I would be naive to think they won’t show up on someone else’s feet or blog some day soon. And I hope they do. They are very well textured and an alternative to the stiletto heel look (and sometimes even my virtual tootsies need a rest).

Bottom line? If I blog it, I am sharing something good with you and I DO hope you “rip it off.” (OK that sounded wrong… hrm…)

Brownie

“Nothing is original. Steal from anywhere that resonates with inspiration or fuels your imagination. Devour old films, new films, music, books, paintings, photographs, poems, dreams, random conversations, architecture, bridges, street signs, trees, clouds, bodies of water, light and shadows. Select only things to steal from that speak directly to your soul. If you do this, your work (and theft) will be authentic. Authenticity is invaluable; originality is non-existent. And don’t bother concealing your thievery – celebrate it if you feel like it. In any case, always remember what Jean-Luc Godard said: “It’s not where you take things from – it’s where you take them to.”
— Jim Jarmusch

Hair: *mikan_hair_Gille_choco_M by Natsumikan Checchinato for mikan hair shop

Skin: L.Fauna {Lapine . Tan 1} [Velvet] by Launa Fauna for L.Fauna

Top: ::humming::cardigan_brown by Kyon Torok for ::humming::

Skirt: ::humming:: browndenimSkirt by Kyon Torok for ::humming::

Socks: ::humming::borderSocks by Kyon Torok for ::humming::

Earrings: Ear Candy ~ Boho Jewelry Fair Freebie by Maeve Mortlock for Ear Candy

Clogs: Sakka’s Studio ** Clog Shoes/ Caramel buckskin by sakka Flow for Sakka’s Studio

6 thoughts on “Brownie

  1. OMG what, mad props for my blog? I am totally falling over and going fwee and all that, you don’t even KNOW. Hahaha!

    THANKS, HARPER! You ROCK.

Leave a Reply

