My Doppelganger

My Doppelganger

Everyone has someone in SL who has their name (unless you are say, AtomicSparkle, and even then, someone stole her name I am sure). My SL doppelgänger is Harper Ganesvoort, SL blogger, bon vivant, and generous soul. She blogs about OTHER photographers and bloggers with attention and appreciation for their fine work in her column, “Contact Sheet.” She keeps her photo studio out with poses and offers use of it to anyone any time. She shows up in Fashion Emergency chat full of good advice and help. And she never fails to read my blog, often comments, sometimes IMs me in world to say a good thing, and always always favorites my blogs and photos. I could not have a better lady share my name.

My Doppelganger

In honor of Harper, I wear a bright colorful cozy outfit, kinda whacky, kinda fun, which is just what she is. (OK, I would say she has a bit more dignity than “whacky” implies, but she really is a warm soul.) I start with this groovy poncho from Maya Levane, a sculpty with a perfect knit texture. I wear it with a skirt I found on the same sim from nene Flores—one of those stores with 5 shirts, 4 skirts, a handful of poses and some other little stuff. My tights came from my stop at the gacha.. which always get me! Little suede ankle boots from Pixieplumb Flanagan suit this outfit perfectly and I dress it up (ha!) with a whimsical owl purse from Myvegancookbook Bolissima (you know I bet he regrets having to type that in to log in).

My Doppelganger

My skin is a luminous youthful look from Gala Phoenix. I have noticed that more and more creators are really pushing their limits by looking at different complexion types. It’s easy to do tan, but what about truly pale or really dark? We have such a wide variety of skin tones that people wear, let’s get them in SL! My bright hair (kind of like the bright aura Harper wears) is a cute cut from Kavar Cleanslate.

My Doppelganger

“I don’t look to Second Life for huge insights, or even small ones…. I take it as it comes to me, day by day that I get a chance to enter the virtual world; and perhaps that’s an insight.” ~ Harper Ganesvoort, Around the Grid with Harper

Hair: ::Exile:: Miu:Roots-Nectar by Kavar Cleanslate for ::Exile:: *

Skin: :GP: Sundust [Dark] GoGo-Pure 2 by Gala Phoenix for Curio *

Eyes: FASHISM ‘Sunrise’ Eyes – Absinthe (ML) by Ikon Innovia for FASHISM *

Poncho: (TokiD) Poncho (knitted) (no script) by Maya Levane for (TokiD)

Skirt: [solita]sk.003 by nene Flores for [solita]

Tights: (TokiD) un tights -orange 1 by Maya Levane for (TokiD)

Purse: Lucy In Disguise – Night Owl Box Purse – Orange by myvegancookbook Bolissima for Adjunct

Boots: BM Kerris Boot by Pixieplumb Flanagan for Baby Monkey *

Poses by Dove Swanson for Long Awkward Pose

One thought on “My Doppelganger

  1. Well, you know I just gotta like this one. (Laughing and blushing)

    Really, though, thanks very much for this; I can’t help but be flattered. It’s always a pleasure reading your work, seeing your pictures and meeting up with you in the Fashion Emergency group or face-to-face on occasion; and, if I’ve learned anything about fashion in my time, it’s as much from you and the other fashion bloggers as any experience I’ve had in my time with copies of Vogue.

    I can’t say where you came up with Harper, but I can tell you my inspiration, and that comes from the Dragonriders of Pern books by Anne McCaffrey (who just passed away of a stroke yesterday, sadly; all the dragons of Pern keen at her loss). Since I love music, I enjoyed her character Master Harper Robinton greatly, and chose that as an online handle long ago. As it works out, though, I have another link to “Harper,” since I live in Alabama these days. This state’s most famous author is Harper Lee, the writer of To Kill a Mockingbird.

    (Incidentally, I can be whacky at times. It’s just that not everybody appreciates the puns I come up with. I did advanced graduate studies at the Spider Robinson School for Paranomasia, you see, and am a sound believer that the beauty of a pun is in the “OY!” of the beholder.)

    Thank you so much again!

Leave a Reply

