Something New, Something Old

Something Old, Something New

In the past couple months I have flipped my schedule around so I am no longer up all night til 4 but waking up at 4 and running off to do this and that early in the morning. It means my schedule has changed and I am not blogging daily as I once did (though I do my best to keep up). It also means I get more sleep and get to say hi to the guy delivering my newspaper. (I once startled him—now he’s used to me.)

Something Old, Something New

I wear something new and something old here. My top, which I absolutely adore ebcause it has this beautiful handpainted flower decoration on it, is one of AvaGardner Kungler’s newest. I really had to ask myself why I liked it so much—was it just silly middle-aged aesthetics? Well I have concluded it is not. The flowers are beautifully rendered and proportionately placed on a seemingly demure but sexy top (notice the deep cut in the back, as if two pieces of material are barely overlapping each other). The colors are rich and the texture is silky. It’s pure beauty.

I wear it with a skirt from Dolce Blackflag/Nephilaine Protagonist. Dolce sadly announced in SLUniverse a couple days ago she would be closing Port Seraphine on January 1 and until that time, all her stores on the sim would feature items on sale for 50L. That includes all her mesh creations and several beautiful pieces which include many variations per outfit, including the outfit from which I chose this skirt. The Atlantis Dress Kit includes five tops and five skirts—all interchangable and all done with Dolce/Nephilaine’s characteristic romantic hand drawn shadows and textures. I can’t emphasize enough how great her work is.. PixelDolls was THE place to go to get great separates when I first entered the game. It’s clear to me that many designers are inspired by her work, whether they realize it or not. She was a pioneer in SL. I truly wish her the best of luck with her future endeavors.

Something Old, Something New

I want to make a little note here about another great creator “leaving SL.” The prevailing theory is that SL has degraded so much due to Linden incompetence that creators are forced out. My take is a little different. There are scads more designers in SL now than ever before and the ability to create a living from creation in SL has fallen dramatically—the competition is too great. The SL economy has changed. One designer can not dominate a market the way it used to be. (I always hear the story of how someone would drop a notice in Fashion Consolidated and the sim would be swamped. No longer does that happen with nearly any marketing effort.)

Additionally, for some creators it’s just time to move on. Their real lives take a turn-they flip their schedule around or take on new challenges. They feel their brand is locking them in; they feel overwhelmed by their inventory or obligations in SL. The payoff mentally, spiritually or economically is just not there anymore. We make the same choices in real life. It’s all part of living.

Something Old, Something New

Because things are the way they are, things will not stay the way they are. ~ Bertolt Brecht

Hair: >TRUTH< Delia w/Roots – chocolate by Truth Hawks for >TRUTH< *

Skin: LAQ ~ Lacie2 [Peach] 03 by Mallory Cowen for Laqroki

Eyes: FASHISM ‘Sunrise’ Eyes – Deep Brown (ML) by Ikon Innovia for FASHISM *

Top: (Kunglers) Amelia – Copper printed by AvaGardner Kungler for Kunglers *

Skirt: (PixelDolls) Atlantis . Dress Kit C . Red—PrimSkirt Maxi by Dolce Blackflag for PixelDolls

Jewelry: *League* Wanderer Jewellery Set -Golden Oak by Nena Janus for *League*

Shoes: S@BBiA::Strap Pumps:red by Jury Gothly for S@BBiA::

Poses by Luth Brodie for Reel Expression

4 thoughts on “Something New, Something Old

  1. I feel I have to comment. Your outfit is beautiful and I love the way you’ve combined designers, including a classic from PixelDolls. I have so many fond memories of PixelDolls going back to my first year in SL late 2006 when I first fell in love with Nephilaine’s creations, which gave a sense of the imaginative possibilities for clothing our avatars in high style early on. They are simply gorgeously done. Everything is perfect . . . colors, textures, movement, and the fantastic number of pieces in each set. And she has been incredibly generous to her many admirers with freebies and specials over all these years. It happens more quickly in SL . . . everything does . . . but certain designers become vintage classics and favorites in our inventories. When we wear them, we feel part of SL’s tradition and history. I wear my PixelDoll outfits and my Last Call outfits with considerable fondness and pride. They are as good today as anything being currently done. Thank you, Nephilaine. And if you don’t have anything by PixelDolls in your inventory, get yourself over there before it’s all gone. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

