Forward.

Forward

This weekend Eshi and I stood with my family in a line that easily extended over ten blocks to see President Obama speak. It was really important to us because Eshi is awaiting her chance to be an American citizen and I wanted my son to see the President and understand the importance of living in our republic. Regardless of the candidate, it is essential to our citizenship to assemble freely to discuss our future and to have everyone have access to this discussion. I wanted him to be part of it.

Katy and the President dance to “Firework”!

Forward

Katy Perry was there and she debuted a new dress while singing her song, “Firework.” It reads “Forward,” which is not only the motto of the Obama campaign but also my state motto, so it had double meaning. I was so inspired by her look, I asked Catty Loon if she knew of a template for a dress so I could hack some similar for today. She offered to make it for me, and she stayed up all night and made a dress that is FAR better than anything I could make. It’s finely crafted (really)—great edges, seams and texture. And she is offering it in her shop RIGHT NOW to all takers!

Forward

I styled this look with a shape of my own making and one of Aida Ewing’s redlipped makeups. My brand new eyes from Ikon Innovia create the same sparkle Katy Perry seems to show. Blaisejoshua came over in his Obama look to pose with Katy and thank her for her singing at his rallies. Then he went off to dance with Mrs. Obama.

I hope every American who is reading this voted. It’s so important to our country that we all participate when it’s time. I am, of course, holding out for Obama (and Gwen Moore and Tammy Baldwin and Elizabeth Warren and Sherrod Brown) but if you don’t agree, we can agree to disagree. I have been afraid to discuss my allegiance, and that should not have to be. We ALL agree the country and the republic is important—that’s why we care to take a side.

Forward

Nobody will ever deprive the American people of the right to vote except the American people themselves and the only way they could do this is by not voting. ~ Franklin D. Roosevelt

Hair: (Chemistry) Hair – Vines – B&Ws – Raven by Kimberlee Miles for (Chemistry) *

Skin: Glam Affair – Roza Basic – Jamaica02 D by Aida Ewing for Glam Affair *

Eyes: IKON Eternal Eyes – Glass (ML) by Ikon Innovia for IKON *

Dress: c.Loon – Forward Obama – Katey  Dress – 2012 by Catty Loon for c.Loon *

Shoes: ! Shoes Cathy – 12colors / REDGRAVE (RGP0340005) by TeamRedgrave for Redgrave

VOTE!

6 thoughts on “Forward.

  1. Pingback: Forward. |

  2. Thank you, Harper. I so appreciate what you have said in this post about the freedom to have and express ideas – even ones that differ from someone else. How can we ever get to a place of balance if we cannot be honest about how we think and feel about important issues?

    President Obama just won the election and I am very happy about that. FORWARD! Let’s go forward – with thoughtfulness, kindness, and strength. Together. Of course, there will be compromise needed…but that’s life. Let us hope and pray for – and work toward – a nation of people who can talk honestly and come together for the benefit of all.

    Lovely dress – great post!

Leave a Reply

