Dale, Meet the Bot. Bot, Meet Dale

I can’t help but share this. A series of lifelike bots has been clustering at popular stores and proffering a sob story about coming back to SL and then hitting people up for Linden. My friend Dale had a pretty good reaction to one of them. (I always hate reading dialogue from SL on a blog but this bears showing.)

AerisApple: don’t you be pushin me!

Dale (dale.innis): sry, didn’t see you.  crowded landing point!

AerisApple: I’m just jokin SL is super wonky and rezzing slow :(

Dale (dale.innis): def

AerisApple: awww your avatar is awesome

Dale (dale.innis): you like the giant cheese-head? [Note: Dale’s a nice person but not an idiot. Already suspects something is going on.]

AerisApple: I am art retarded, I never make good avatars! Did you make yours?

Dale (dale.innis): Yep, I did!  Me and the U. S. Congress, and a sheep.

AerisApple: I logged in for like the first time in a year yesterday, can’t believe how it has changed here

Dale (dale.innis): Just yesterday, eh?

Dale (dale.innis): Do you know you are flying? [Here Dale tests for sentience. The bot is, of course, flying because it’s not on a regular client.]

AerisApple: have you been in SL for a long time?

AerisApple: I think I need a new shape for all of this new stuff, I tried to make one but I don’t think I came even close to yours

Dale (dale.innis): Yes, since 1843!  Would you like my autograph? [Now that’s not a joke.. Dale’s been in SL a loooong time.]

AerisApple: .. mesh is so crazy! and the new skins, I don’t even know many of the creators anymore. Who makes the best skins now?

Dale (dale.innis): These days we make skins from dead squirrels that we find in the road.

AerisApple: I quit because this guy I was seeing from SL asked me to stop playing :(( and I listened like a tart :(

Dale (dale.innis): You were seeing a guy?  Why?

AerisApple: he said there were too many guys in here and he got jealous.I should have thought it was weird that he was so insecure…

Dale (dale.innis): He was probably an FBI agent.

AerisApple: meanwhile, he would come on here and give girls his phone number, which I didn’t find out until one of them messaged me and I got the offline in my email.

Dale (dale.innis): Yeah, that’s FBI agents for you.  Always looking for international spies.  Or is that the CIA?

AerisApple: I had met him irl too and he was cheating on me in SL….. idk I should have never quit

Dale (dale.innis): you me sex now, please? [Dale is testing how newb she is.]

AerisApple: Sorry to share my personal stuff I know that’s a little weird

Dale (dale.innis): Well, clearly you are some sort of pervert.

AerisApple: I quit right after that cause I was bummed out about the situation.

Dale (dale.innis): and probably they wouldn’t let you use a computer from prison, eh?

AerisApple: but here I am back again, starting over. Everything that I had in my inventory was so out of date anyway

AerisApple: your avatar is really good though truly, one of the best ones I have seen since I have been back, you should be proud of it.

Dale (dale.innis): That’s very kind of you!  Can I borrow some money?

AerisApple: mind if I ask a favor :X

AerisApple: I know it’s weird for me to ask you this, but I’m wondering if you might be able to help me out with 150L until I get a job here?

Dale (dale.innis): I know an easy way you can earn 150L real quick, babydoll!

AerisApple: no one seems to want to talk to me because my avatar is newbish :(

Dale (dale.innis): and ’cause you are a bot.

[Dale pays it 1L]

Dale (dale.innis): you me sex now please?
Dale (dale.innis): did you get the money I sent you?
Dale (dale.innis): Hello?

13 thoughts on “Dale, Meet the Bot. Bot, Meet Dale

  1. Oh my, I’m such a retard. It happened to me yesterday and I didn’t realize it was a bot. Thought that girl is a bit stupid or so. Since I don’t care much about the people around me I didn’t bother to look where she was and how she looked like. I only suspected it a trick to beg for money and I was rightabout that. So when the quetion came I muted her right away.

    • You are not! But so many people were getting confused by this thing I thought I would call it what it was and get the word out there :)

  2. I tried to engage a similar bot at TRUTH UNTIL I realized she wasn’t responding to any of my replies or questions, but MUTED and AR filed right after the begging began.

  3. Loool your friend Dale gave some awesome responses. They fooled me too, and tried to ask me if I can lend them 40L for a profile picture.. I told them that you can go to my.secondlife.com and upload pictures for free. No response since, but come to find out, the same exact bot later spoke to someone that I know. xd

    I only wish that I was as clever as Dale was to it.

  4. I had a talk with the person who places those bots on landing points with high traffic. This conversation I posted on my facebook too:
    I CAN’T CALL THE BEGGERS A VIRUS IN SECOND LIFE??? BS !! THEY ARE !
    Read my conversation with a chief begger, someone who places those bots.
    (I only changed the name, for TOS, but it’s not important, it was an avatar of 1 day old ofcourse)
    Keep spreading the news, they seem to hate it !

    [21:33] *******: begger
    [21:33] *******: begger
    [21:33] *******: begger
    [21:33] *******: begger
    [21:34] Mimi
    Juneau: where?
    [21:34] Mimi Juneau: my sim?
    [21:34] *******: lol
    [21:34] *******: no one comes to your damn sim
    [21:34] Mimi Juneau: sorry?
    [21:34] *******: a virus?
    [21:35] *******: Dear Customers.

    We are sure you already heard about a new virus hitting SL. A scripted avatar sends you an IM, telling you a heart-breaking story, then begging for money. This happens in a lot of SL stores. To get this person finally banned and make your shopping trips enjoyable again, we need your help.

    If you get
    approached by this person:

    1. Ignore him and don´t give him money!
    2. File an abuse report
    3. Send a quick IM with “beggar” to Mimi Juneau

    Thank you very much!
    [21:36] Mimi Juneau: so what’s wrong?
    [21:36] *******: no bot has ever been on your sim so why are you making that claim
    [21:36] Mimi Juneau: can I help you?
    [21:37] *******: ya I wanna know why you are claiming that I put my bots on your sim
    [21:37] *******: when I wouldn’t waste my time on your sim
    [21:37] Mimi Juneau: do I know you? :)
    [21:37] *******: and saying that it is a VIRSU
    [21:37] *******: VIRUS
    [21:37] *******: do you know me?
    [21:37] *******: you think you know me obviously if you are making claims about me
    [21:38] Mimi Juneau: beggers are virusses in sl :)
    [21:38] *******: first of all
    [21:38]*******: you are screwing yourself by telling people that there is a virus going around SL
    [21:38] *******: that would only make people paranoid
    [21:39] Mimi Juneau: it is, people sending out scripted items
    [21:39] *******: THERE is no item
    [21:39] Mimi Juneau: there is
    [21:39] *******: obviously I have never been on your sim or anywhere near you
    [21:39] *******: uh no
    [21:39] Mimi Juneau: you only beg at Redgrave ?
    [21:40] *******: nope
    [21:40] *******: but I wouldn’t go to some sim that gets zero traffic
    [21:40] Mimi Juneau: why are you begging?
    [21:40] *******: what would be the point
    [21:40] *******: why do you sell items?
    [21:40] Mimi Juneau: t earn some honest money
    [21:40] *******: me telling someone they have a cute avatar and asking for money
    [21:40] *******: HONEST?
    [21:41] *******: how is exploiting people by selling intangible garbage honest
    [21:41] Mimi Juneau: I don’t beg for my money
    [21:41] *******: probably none of which you created anyway
    [21:41] *******: sure you do
    [21:41] *******: just like strippers do here and hookers and people selling garbage
    [21:41] *******: you beg for your money
    [21:41] Mimi Juneau: right
    [21:42] *******: but I would stop making claims like there is a virus
    [21:42] *******: there isn’t anything malicious
    [21:42] *******: thats a fallacy
    [21:42] *******: you want to ban me if I come to your sim which I wouldn’t
    [21:42] *******: thats up to you
    [21:42] Mimi Juneau: thank you wow
    [21:42] *******: but claiming that people have to worry about a security breach
    [21:43] *******: that’s bullshit
    [21:43] *******: i haven’t done anything but maybe be annoying to people who don’t want to talk to me

  5. The ‘guy’ I had met in SL and was cheating on me in SL turned out to be an obese, 50 something female from NY with serious psych problems.

    They really pissed me off by posting lots or private IM’s on a blog.

    I am really disappointed you not only call me a bot but are also posting private IM’s on a blog.

    I shouldn’t be disappointed as I know you are Rory Serpente’s alt who is Blue Linden’s alt who is Harper Beresford’s alt.

    AerisApple – AerisAppleAltNotBot.com AerisApple@altmail.com

  6. That’s not fair. :(
    Even bots are discriminating!
    This bot (Ursela something) asked me for L$ 300 !!
    Unacceptable. Completely.

  7. I did manage to find out the name of the bot. And I did not realize that I was talking to bot until I read this blog hahhaahah

    [2012/12/12 08:51] Ursulena Resident: ouch you just pushed me so hard, why would you do that :(
    [2012/12/12 08:51] Siddhart Sohmers: Sorry, I dint mean to. I was tping to my home but landed up here instead
    [2012/12/12 08:52] Ursulena Resident: don’t be mad though I just wanted to talk to you haha
    [2012/12/12 08:52] Siddhart Sohmers: no worries :)
    [2012/12/12 08:52] Siddhart Sohmers: welcome to SL
    [2012/12/12 08:52] Ursulena Resident: I’m just jokin SL is super wonky and rezzing slow :(
    [2012/12/12 08:53] Siddhart Sohmers: yes it is slow
    [2012/12/12 08:53] Ursulena Resident: my avatar looks horrible compared to yours! Jeez! Is that your shape?
    [2012/12/12 08:53] Siddhart Sohmers: yes, I made this shape myself
    [2012/12/12 08:53] Ursulena Resident: I logged in for like the first time in a year yesterday, can’t believe how it has changed here
    [2012/12/12 08:54] Siddhart Sohmers: so I take it, this is your new avi and not older one
    [2012/12/12 08:54] Ursulena Resident: you look like you have been in SL for a long time, have you?
    [2012/12/12 08:54] Siddhart Sohmers: since 2006
    [2012/12/12 08:55] Ursulena Resident: I think I need a new shape for all of this new stuff, I tried to make one but I don’t think I came even close to yours
    [2012/12/12 08:55] Siddhart Sohmers: it takes time :)
    [2012/12/12 08:55] Siddhart Sohmers: but u will get it eventually
    [2012/12/12 08:55] Ursulena Resident: .. mesh is so crazy! and the new skins, I don’t even know many of the creators anymore. Who makes the best skins now?
    [2012/12/12 08:56] Siddhart Sohmers: Redgrave, Belleza,
    [2012/12/12 08:56] Siddhart Sohmers: Unique
    [2012/12/12 08:56] Siddhart Sohmers: Lavie
    [2012/12/12 08:56] Ursulena Resident: I quit because this guy I was seeing from SL asked me to stop playing :(( and I listened because I am stupid :(
    [2012/12/12 08:56] Siddhart Sohmers: sorry to hear about, new avi new life new sl :)
    [2012/12/12 08:56] Ursulena Resident: he said there were too many guys in here and he got jealous.I should have thought it was weird that he was so insecure…
    [2012/12/12 08:57] Ursulena Resident: meanwhile, he would come on here and give girls his phone number, which I didn’t find out until one of them messaged me and I got the offline in my email.
    [2012/12/12 08:57] Siddhart Sohmers: well yes, shit happens
    [2012/12/12 08:58] Ursulena Resident: I was seeing him IRL and everything like once a month, usually I paid for the plane tickets – meanwhile he was calling girls from SL telling them he loved them.
    [2012/12/12 08:58] Ursulena Resident: have you ever dated anyone in SL?
    [2012/12/12 08:59] Siddhart Sohmers: yes :)
    [2012/12/12 08:59] Siddhart Sohmers: I am happily married to her
    [2012/12/12 08:59] Ursulena Resident: sorry to treat you like you are my therapist or something :( guess I just needed to talk about it
    [2012/12/12 08:59] Ursulena Resident: then right after that because I was so angry, I wanted to message the girls and tell them how I felt, but I couldn’t bring myself to do it
    [2012/12/12 09:00] Ursulena Resident: but here I am back again, starting over as a newb. Everything that I had in my inventory was so out of date anyway
    [2012/12/12 09:00] Siddhart Sohmers: thts the spirit
    [2012/12/12 09:00] Siddhart Sohmers: new life without drama :)
    [2012/12/12 09:01] Ursulena Resident: your avatar is really nice though truly, one of the best ones I have seen since I have been back, you should be proud of it, you did an amazing job
    [2012/12/12 09:01] Siddhart Sohmers: thank you very much :)
    [2012/12/12 09:01] Siddhart Sohmers: i model sometimes in sl
    [2012/12/12 09:01] Ursulena Resident: mind if I ask a favor :X
    [2012/12/12 09:02] Siddhart Sohmers: if i can, surely i will do it
    [2012/12/12 09:02] Ursulena Resident: I know I just randomly imed you and it’s so rude of me to ask but do you think there is any way you could help me a little bit with getting started again? Maybe like 300l so I can get a hair or something
    [2012/12/12 09:02] Ursulena Resident: I want to reinvent myself in SL, no dating unless the guy is just like so amazing that I can’t resist it
    [2012/12/12 09:03] Ursulena Resident: thank you so much!!!
    [2012/12/12 09:03] Siddhart Sohmers: Sorry, I dont give lindens. But i can give you LM to stores where you can find nice designer things as group gifts
    [2012/12/12 09:05] Siddhart Sohmers: I will get going now. Those LMs should help you get started nicely. :)

    Guess I was being nice? Lol

  8. I met two of these bots last week- different names, but exactly same chat dialog. When i met second bot, i recognized that she never answered to one of my sentences. Second bot was 1 day old, first bot was 4 weeks old. my best friend in sl met one these bots, too. There must be a lot of them :-(((
    But I´m happy to hear that others have some meetings- with these psychotic typing people- and I`m glad that I didn`t spend any Linden Dollar!

  9. I think up to now i have had about 10 of these ..so all i do is tell the sim owner and mute them plus the other day at a skin store someone asked if i wanted to buy a fatpack of the sim owners skin they were copying it. so i told the store owner right away.it’s so sad that ppl try and rip others off

Leave a Reply

