Dancing with Change

Dance the Change

The only way to make sense out of change is to plunge into it, move with it, and join the dance. ~ Alan Watts

Dance the Change

Flickr recently changed their format, allowing users to have 1 terabyte of storage space free for their media. A lot of people flipped out. Some had the hubris to make a critical analyses. I went, “Yay!” One terabyte is a lot of pixels, and I didn’t have to sell my soul for storage. I changed my personal account from Pro to free and got a prorated refund in less than 24 hours. Yahoo has to make money. Better off advertisers than me.

Change happens. It’s part of living. Either I can spend my energy squawking about it or I can dance along. I choose to dance. Today I am dancing in this great set of silks from Solange Cerveau. With her characteristic intricate textures and perfect system pieces and absolute sex appeal, the silks give me the look of a gorgeous dancer. (Because if I am going to dance, I am going to do it looking good!) How does Solange manage to pack so much into such a small set of pixels?

Dance the Change

With the advent of mesh in SL (another change some people have problems with), we are seeing hybrid avatars, made of the system avatar and mesh enhancements. Heads, boobs, even butts have come out. And of course, we have hands and feet. The queen of this is, of course, Siddean Munro, who recently adopted the clever open-source texturing used on mesh boobs by allowing creators to develop “appliers” for her hands and feet for both skin and nails. I used a set of her “Elegant” hands to hold zills for dancing, just to make the dancing more rhythmic and musical.

Sachi Vixen, who has survived just about every change the grid has tried to throw at her has created a set of appliers for Slink’s hands and feet like other creators as well as gloves and now the lovely foot jewels you see on my opening photo. Made of mesh, they come with a color changing HUD that allows you to choose from six different metal colors. I looked on MP and found these terrific french nail colors in an applier from Nicole Twigvald and click, click and my manicure and pedicure were complete.

Dance the Change

Sachi’s appliers would not work right if I weren’t wearing her skin as well. The transition from hands and feet to the rest of the body is truly seamless. I had to make no adjustments once I had put the appliers on. And this skin is gorgeous. With well-developed features from top to bottom (not just the pretty face we see on some skins), Sachi’s latest skins have been a gorgeous addition to the grid and perfect for wearing with revealing silks.

Truth Hawks is another creator on the grid who has rolled with the punches. When mesh came out, he converted his hair factories from sculpty to mesh. His latest mesh work is gorgeous—he gets better every day. Recently he chose to redo his color selections and in so doing, forgo the metaphorical names for simple colors and numbers. Most of us embraced the change. Change happens. Dance along.

Dance the Change

Life is like dancing. If we have a big floor, many people will dance. Some will get angry when the rhythm changes. But life is changing all the time. ~ Miguel Angel Ruiz

Hair: TRUTH HAIR Lotus – Reds04 by Truth Hawks for >TRUTH< *

Skin: AE Skins – Carolyn T3 Bare by Sachi Vixen for Adam n Eve *

Eyes: IKON Lucid Eyes – Eucalyptus (ML) by Ikon Innovia for IKON *

Silks: GREEN/MOSS Innocence by Solange Cerveau for Solange! *

Hands: Slink Mesh Hands (av) Elegant by Siddean Munro for Slink

Feet: Slink Mesh Feet (Av) Flat by Siddean Munro for Slink

Skin appliers: by Sachi Vixen for Adam n Eve *

Nail applier: Orc Inc. : Slink Avatar Enhancement Hand and Toe Nails by Nicole Twigvald for Orc Inc.

Zills: Finger Cymbals by Anthonys Republic for Sculpty Republic

Foot jewels: Adam n Eve Foot Jewel Emerald by Sachi Vixen for Adam n Eve *

Poses by Rogan Diesel for DieselWorks Animations *

One thought on “Dancing with Change

  1. “if I am going to dance, I am going to do it looking good!” — haha, what a great attitude. :) I like those quotes about dancing, as well, as a metaphor for life’s changes.
    Your writing always does such justice to your outfits, and this was a really great example of it.
    It’s so obvious that you’re nobody’s mere mannequin.

Leave a Reply

