Speed of Dark

Speed of Dark

I confess, I confess
I have been tempted tempted
I want it, I want it
Dangerous

~ “Speed of Dark” by Emiliana Torrini

Speed of Dark

A great song for a great look. Starting with this studded nightclub dress from SamanthaSJones (a limited edition so get it quick if you like it), I put together a look that will take me through the speed of dark. I accessorize with Maxi Gossamer’s great jewelry for FaMESHed. I am wearing a pair of Nuria Augapfel’s and Claire Messenger’s great newer shoes. They come with their web-based skin matching system and four versions of the shoe all in one hud—with peep toes and without, with straps and without. These shoes are sex on two legs.

Speed of Dark

I broke down and got Ava Grau’s fantastic newer skin, which looks fantastic with blonde hair. I love the subtlety of the makeup and the shape of the brows and lips. I have added an eyeliner from Tricky Boucher/Shyla Diggs to dress it up. My gorgeous blonde hair then is Kavar Cleanslate’s contribution for the Arcade, a side-swept wavy mane of hair that flows over the shoulder. Pump a few linden into his machine and see what you get—his textures are always gorgeous.

Speed of Dark

Before I finish this blog, I want to make a confession. Because of a glitch in the new materials viewing, the shoes by people like Gospel Voom and this great pair from Nuria Augapfel and Claire Messenger are showing up with a horrible glitch. When the “Advanced Lighting Model” is checked, the alphas blending the ankles of these shoes into the skins of the avatar frame show up dark. In other words, the alphas don’t work. This is NOT a flaw in the creation of the shoes—it’s a viewer problem, based on choices LL made in how the textures render. I can not avoid this problem by turning off Advanced Lighting without losing shadows and all sorts of other depth I enjoy. Therefore I AM touching up the ankles in my ham-handed way on photos in this blog.

I have spoken to Gospel Voom about this in depth. At first, his CS claimed there was nothing he was going to do about it and blew it off but a personal conversation with him gave me a much more satisfactory answer. He will be looking into how to work around the problem but the problem is a thorny one for all creators employing the alpha to blend the ankles. Since I am guessing a lot of people still don’t use Advanced Lighting, I am not going to worry about how I look to others. The work around is turning off the blending for the Gos shoes (which leaves a noticeable-to-me joint) And I will put up with seeing the glaringly obvious stain around my legs for now.

And I confess my touch-up to salve my guilty soul and to help anyone who sees this glitch from going nuts wondering what they could do to fix it as I had.

Speed of Dark

Life is just a flicker in the universe
Ooh under the stars we’re indestructible
(It’s just a flicker in the universe)

Hair: Exile::Just a Reason by Kavar Cleanslate for ::Exile::, available at the Arcade *

Skin: *Glance Skins – Sigrid – April – Blonde Brows by Ava Grau for Glance Skins *

Makeup: -Belleza- Eyeliner 1 by Shyla Diggs for -Belleza- *

Eyes: [Crash Republic] Rebel Eyes – brown by Isabelle Requiem for Crash Republic, available at SL Fashion Week *

Dress: [LG] Boutique-[Summer 13] Counting Stars Dress by SamanthaSJones for LIV-Glam, available at Fashion Limited *

Jewelry: MG – Necklace, Earrings, Bracelet – Octavia by Maxi Gossamer for Maxi Gossamer, available at FaMESHed *

Shoes: N-core CUORE “Black” by Nuria Augapfel and Claire Messenger for N-Core

Poses by Tutys for Tutys

Finally, my girl and her partners made a wonderful gift for Firestorm to celebrate their 3rd birthday. This adorable FireKitty is available, one to a clicker, from Firestorm and KittyCatS. Fully functional, it’s non-breedable and non-transferable and will live forever, cuddling, saying silly things to you, and looking cute. They have included in the package a coupon for a free live kitty if you want to try breeding and feeding.  Read where to get one on the Firestorm blog.

firestorm-firekitty-ad

One thought on “Speed of Dark

  1. Pingback: Apparently I Need Feet - Page 8 - SLUniverse Forums

Leave a Reply

