Aphra

Aphra

“All women together ought to let flowers fall upon the tomb of Aphra Behn, for it was she who earned them the right to speak their minds.” ~ Virginia Woolf, A Room of One’s Own

Aphra

I named this look after a playwright of the 17th century—one of the first women to write professionally and to be acknowledged. Her wit was well-known during her time (a sort of Dorothy Parker for the royal set) and she became a central figure in feminist critique and the development of the novel. She can’t have been a nothing—she is buried at Westminster Abbey, where I saw her gravestone.

Aphra represents for me women’s creative work, which is a perfect segue to this dress by Raven Pennyfeather. I worked for Raven for several years when she was one of the first major designers in SL, bringing her fantasy wear and romance to the platform. She is especially handy with textures, as shown in this gorgeous lush gown with its embroidered bodice and handsome mesh jacket. Raven is all about depth and brocades, romance and fantasy. She resumed her RL career and backed off SL and now she is in to enjoy creating and sharing her wonderful gift with the grid.

Aphra

Shyla Digg’s Big Brilliant Bargains or uh Bodacious Bewitching Buys or Beneficial Beauty Breaks are out this weekend. This gorgeous skin with its beautifully lined eyes and very neutral lip is a perfect look for Aphra and a deal for such a gorgeous look. Truth Hawks has released this updo, named after a lovely lady, that includes gorgeous optional flowers that can be added. I chose not to include them with this look, which is romantic and strong. I found the exquisite jewelry I am wearing by Rin Ansia on Marketplace for a song—perfect punctuation for this poetic image.

Aphra

Here lies a Proof that Wit can never be
Defence enough against Mortality”
~
Aphra Behn’s epitaph

Posted to my RL bulletin board:

Hair: TRUTH HAIR Felicity – Reds by Truth Hawks by Truth Hawks for >TRUTH< *

Skin: -Belleza- Mya Med BBB R 1 by Shyla Diggs for -Belleza- *

Eyes: .ID. Ultimate Eyes [REG/LG] Hazel Deep by Audrey Lamede by Audrey Lamede for Insufferable Dastard

Dress: RFYRE RHAPSODY SERIES WOMEN DARK TEAL by Raven Pennyfeather for House of RFyre *

Necklace: *R+a* Blackpearl Choker1 by Rin Ansia for R+a

Earrings: *R+a* Blackpearl by Rin Ansia for R+a

Poses by Rogan Diesel for DieselWorks Animations *

2 thoughts on “Aphra

  1. As soon as I saw that dress, I thought, “Oooo! Looks like Rfyre!” She’s still my favorite designer. I met her years ago when I was chatting with someone, and soon as she found out I was new in SL she passed me a lovely outfit with a fancy ruffled jacket. And I remember the entertaining notecards you would write to announce new designs.

Leave a Reply

