Hindsight

Hindsight

“Life is all about ass. You’re either covering it, laughing it off, kicking it, kissing it, busting it, or trying to get a piece of it.” ~ Stephen Jolly

Hindsight

Today it’s all about the ass.. well the new “Cute Azz” from CK Winx. This is the follow-up to the very popular Phat Azz that has proliferated across the grid, amazing some and well frankly, disgusting others. The Cute Azz is meant to be a toned down and improved version of the original and in this respect, it is. The derriere is smaller and the legs are more shapely and proportionate. It’s definitely not nearly as outrageous.

Hindsight

So I ran out and got it—I couldn’t help myself this time. It really is silly to be mod of a skin group without knowing some of the products people ask about, and well, I was curious after seeing some photos. The photos you see here compare my Harper shape as I customarily wear it against wearing the Cute Azz. I will note that to make the mesh look better on me, I did lower my body fat and belly to 0 as suggested, both of which are above 0 on Harper’s shape. I also increased the hip width and length slightly to make the mesh piece look more proportionate on me.

(Let me interject here with a big hint to all you fashionistas out there: rigged mesh pieces can be made to look better on you when you fiddle with your shape. For the Azz, it responded to changes in hip width and length. For Slink hands, I STRONGLY encourage you all to increase your hand size to 30 or 40 because your regular hands will look like T-Rex hands when you wear the mesh. Do not be so attached to the numbers that you end up looking freakish—they are sliders with arbitrary numbers, not a remark on your own personal value.)

That being said, I found the Cute Azz with the thicker thighs to indeed have an appealing curve on the fronts and backs of the thighs and the calves. I didn’t care for the skinnier legs on the regular one.

Hindsight

What really put me off, again, was that ridiculous thigh gap, which I first saw in a pair of Maitreya pants, and which shows up on both Azzes. Though it’s a RL fashion, it’s been written down by such august fashion institutions as Cosmopolitan because it puts ridiculous body image ideals on women. It’s really got to stop—most women don’t look like this and most of us don’t want to. Additionally, the gap causes the ass itself to have a funny peak to it which you can see in the photos comparing my system shape to the mesh butt. It’s really odd and not in line with how a truly luscious lady’s butt looks.

I believe it’s possibly a function of how mesh works on our avatars—I see lots of gaps under arms, between legs, etc. It’s a really unfortunate result. I challenge CK Winx to get rid of that gap on her next revision.

Hindsight

I concluded, after trying it out, that I can live with Harper’s regular shape for most purposes. I can see the appeal of the thicker thigh piece for certain shots that would accentuate the legs but it’s such a minor difference, I can’t see the point.

Let me give a rundown on the fashion here. I saw this outfit from Amberchaudry Corpur that included a Phat Azz applier at the Designer Circle and thought it would be ideal for a sexy look. I dressed it up with a  hip chain from Maxi Gossamer that I love and which includes sizing on all axes, so you can make it hang just right. Boots from Syntella Rhapsody fit my bootiliciousness and Aida Ewing has included appliers for everything with her new skin at the Season’s Story, where this great hair style from MissAllSunday Lemon is also being offered (and great to get if you can swim through the lag).

Hindsight

Hindsight is 20/20.

Hair: /Wasabi Pills/ Emma Mesh Hair – Flaming cherry by MissAllSunday Lemon for Wasabi Pills, available at Season’s Story *

Skin: -Glam Affair – Magenta skin – Asia – 05 E with -Glam Affair – Magenta – Asia tone ( Cheeks ) 01 by Aida Ewing for Glam Affair, available at The Season’s Story *

Eyes: Madrid Solo- System Eyes- Green Realm by Madrid Solo for Madrid Solo

Jacket: [[ Masoom ]] Roza jacket by Amberchaudry Corpur for Masoom, available at Designer Circle

Jeans (with applier) and top: [[Masoom]] Roza jeans black by Amberchaudry Corpur for Masoom, available at Designer Circle

Necklace: [7891.] Geranium Necklace – Silver W\Stones by l3ight33 for 7891, available at

Hip chain: Hip Chain – Babette – FULL SET – Curvy – BLACK – V1 by Maxi Gossamer for Maxi Gossamer

Nail applier: Nailed It – Slink – Raw Nostalgia Set HUD by Giela Delpaso for Nailed It*

Butt: *L.inc* Cute Azz by CK Winx for *L.inc*

Boots: 7E Affinity (R) *SE* by Syntella Rhapsody for Seven Exits *

Poses by Rogan Diesel for DieselWorks Animations *

9 thoughts on “Hindsight

  1. Pingback: Hindsight | Be Happy in sl's Blog

  2. Thanks for the review, I avoided mesh curves (opting only for hands and feet) since they arrived, but this is definitely closer to (my) reality. I got it, and am very happy with the results! Also, I should mention that I had a problem with fitting them (due to wearing physics), which CK addressed nearly immediately, by coming over to my place and working with me until we solved the problem. Now that’s brilliant customer service too!

  3. I’ve hated Phat Azz the moment it appeared. This looks much better; even worth considering for my little bod.
    I’m wary of the gap, though and I suppose there’s no demo so I won’t bite. I’d rather bite yours ^^

  4. Pingback: Hindsight | Second Life Fashion Addict | Scoop.it

  5. Pingback: Curio skins? - Page 23 - SLUniverse Forums

Leave a Reply

