Homespun

Homespun

“Tell me what you eat, I’ll tell you who you are.” ~ Anthelme Brillat-Savarin

Homespun

I am pretty excited. I just bought my first CSA share after attending a farmers’ open house at a local park. CSA means “Community Supported Agriculture,” and it means I just purchased a share of the crop a local farmer will be harvesting this year. Each week I will get something like a half bushel of a variety of produce (and eggs and other good stuff if I opt in) delivered to a home near me from a farm about an hour away. If you’re curious, you can click here to see a CSA box from another local farm being filled. I am excited because I have really enjoyed visiting farmers’ markets in my city and now it’s coming to me and I know I am helping support a local farming family. I will be challenged this summer and fall learning how to prepare some items I have not cooked with before—fennel, anyone? But I am taking to heart Alice Waters’ ideas about eating locally, eating in season and eating sustainably.

This darling patchwork dress from Ariadna Garrigus made me think about this again, though I signed up over a week ago and won’t see my first share until June. The beauty of her patchwork on this mesh skirt paired with a crocheted top made me think of homemade goodness and going back to the earth. She cinches it with a wide leather belt and the dress form comes in three other variations.

Homespun

Aleida Rhode is offering this gorgeous skin at Skin Fair. In 7 tones with eyebrow variations and cleavage options. She also features 15 lipsticks in a variety of shades (not just pinks and reds) and all the appliers you would ever need. It’s Aleida’s typically high style, elegant approach to skin making.

A long braid, pulled up in back and bound in sections down its length is Mirja Mills’ newest offer. With wispy pieces slipping out in front, it’s romantic and sexy. With Mirja’s great HUD, especially the “natural” colors, it’s a great look for RP or every day wear.

Homespun

“The things most worth wanting are not available everywhere all the time.” ~ Alice Waters

Hair: .:EMO-tions:. * SUSANNAH * by Mirja Mills for.:EMO-tions:. *

Skin: Elysium – Taylor (light brow eyebr..) – mocha with Elysium – Taylor lips – soft red (mocha) by Aleida Rhode for Elysium, available at Skin Fair 2014 (Sim 3) *

Eyes: pearl – bog wood – medium dark by Lano Ling for Poetic Eyes

Dress: ***ArisAris AA32 Patchwork Dress  Red by Ariadna Garrigus for ArisAris *

Jewelry: MG – necklace and earrings – Tokyo Party Night by Maxi Gossamer for Maxi Gossamer, available at Collabor88 *

Bracelets: MG – Bangles – La Cubelle – Combo Small2 by Maxi Gossamer for Maxi Gossamer, available at FaMESHed *

Hands: Slink Mesh Hands (av) Elegant Right and Slink Mesh Hands (av) Elegant1 Left by Siddean Munro for Slink

Nail appliers: Nailed It – Autumn Nights Set by Giela Delpaso for Nailed It *

Feet: Slink Mesh Feet (Av) Flat by Siddean Munro for Slink

Poses by Valencia Southard for Marukin

3 thoughts on “Homespun

  1. Pingback: Homespun (Post-26746) - Old London Docks

  2. Pingback: Homespun | Second Life Fashion Addict | Scoop.it

  3. Pingback: Why I Do Fashion for Life | A Passion for Virtual Fashion

Leave a Reply

