Five Years

“Five years from now, you’re the same person except for the people you’ve met and the books you’ve read.” ~ John Wooden

Five Years

I realized a couple days ago that I started my blog five years ago. The first year I blogged every single day, faithfully, and then after year two I kind of let myself off the hook for every day and now I average about 3-4 times a week (or sometimes twice a day as when I was blogging Hair Fair and sometimes not at all as when I was working on the SL11B blog).

I started my blog when my friend and now partner, Callie, asked me to be a moderator for the fashion bloggers group. I was not a blogger myself but she knew she could keep me in hand. Working for a designer, I definitely had ideas about what bloggers should do if they wanted to suggest they would promote a brand (I still do). So I started my own blog to see how onerous those requirements were. (Short answer: it’s tempting to PS the hell out of my photos but I won’t do it so my readers see the actual content, SLurls are a pain in the ass but necessary so people know where to find things, and drama is not in short supply but I try to keep my head down.)

I also started my blog to get into the habit of writing every day. I had read Haruki Murakami’s book, What I Talk About When I Talk About Runningwhere he had written about the pain and joy of writing and running, and the discipline of doing both. Doing my blog has enriched my intellectual life and allowed me an outlet to discuss what I am thinking about, reading, and doing.

Five Years

 

Blogging fashion for SL has changed quite a lot during this time. The number of bloggers has exploded and the whole blogger “industry” has changed quite a bit. I have been lucky  as I have wonderful designers who send me things to show in my blog. I have tried to honor their hard work with my own hard work. It’s not always perfect and certainly not the most spectacular, but I have been tried to exhibit consistency and integrity. Thank you to the many designers who have contributed to my blog. I hope I gave you something in return.

Over the last five years, the opportunities to enhance my blog have changed too. WordPress offers tons more templates and CSS options; Flickr recently changed up how they link; the SL Facebook community has exploded. I have tried to keep up with most of those things. I find it has become more time consuming to produce each blog entry as I navigate all the new things I need to do to keep myself relevant.  For example, I revamped the blog over the past few days with a new theme (which you see here—what do you think?)

It has been an honor to be asked to create and contribute to blogs including being a fashion blogger for Koinup, running the Costa Rica fashion blogs and then Dream Seekers Estates, creating the new blog for LivGlam and now Damselfly and Sage Fashions, and running the social media for SL11B, including running their blog (in which I created every single page and entry you see). My biggest honor, of course, was being asked repeatedly to create images for Linden Lab for their splash pages for Second Life and Marketplace.

Here is the grand finale: if you are a regular reader of my blog, thank you. You have been my most important supporter, and I would not have kept doing this for five years without you. When people tell me that they read my blog, I am always excited and touched. It is really important to know there is someone out there who “hears” my words and finds something of interest, information or thought for themselves. Without you, there is no reason to do this.

Five Years

“So the fact that I’m me and no one else is one of my greatest assets.” ~ Haruki Murakami, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

Hair: *~*Damselfly*~*Veronika Non-Rigged-Mesh Big Pack by Shylah Honey for :::Damselfly Hair::, coming soon

Skin: -Belleza- Claudia SK 4 Dk R by Shyla Diggs and Tricky Boucher for –Belleza *

Eyes: #adored – siren eyes – big wave by Constance Daehlie for #adored

Dress: -AZUL Bridal- Faith/Onyx by Mami Jewell for –AZUL- *

Jewelry: MG – Earrings –  Mayfair Bell Diamonds by Maxi Gossamer for Maxi Gossamer *

Hands: Slink Avatar Enhancement Hands – Casual by Siddean Munro for Slink

Poses by Luth Brodie for Reel Expression (no longer available)

9 thoughts on “Five Years

  1. Pingback: Five Years (Post-70546) - [O.L.D.] Old London Docks Best Feeds

  2. oh yay it worked!! now i can say. I LOVE HOW YOU BLOG… you posts are so rich, not just “cutesy” photos, but i love how you add poems, quotes, and actual thought beyond ZOMG!!! :P

    i respect and admire you. you have grown a lot over the past 5 years and have all my love and respect.

    i am honored to be your non-romantic- partner, and friend.

    :) xoxo, callie

  3. Harper, your wonderful blog has been daily reading for years and the changes are easy on the eye…just like you:) Thank you for the style advice and for sharing your thoughts and exquisite taste (Carolyn Jones would have killed for that dress).

    • “I started my blog five years ago. The first year I blogged every single day, faithfully, …” it is both true and an amazing effort. I recall you telling me you had decided to become a “serious blogger” and do a blog a day every day for the first year. I also recall conversations when you were so ill with ‘flu you must have been close to being hospitalised but refusing to log off until you had finished the blog for that day.

      Congratulations on both your 5 year anniversary and on maintaining such a consistent quality during that time. Like Maeve (is she single?) I too enjoy a blog that not only has sentences, a rare thing, but even has paragraphs.

      I will start organizing the 10 years blogging celebrations immediately as 5 years has gone so quickly.

      5 years of blogging that means I have known you longer than that, I think I need a strong drink *pours you a double*

Leave a Reply

