Losing My Edge

Yeah, I’m losing my edge.
I’m losing my edge.
The kids are coming up from behind.
I’m losing my edge.
I’m losing my edge to the kids from France and from London.
But I was there.

~ “Losing My Edge” by LCD Soundsystem

Losing My Edge

Gah, I am four years old in SL today. That’s like MIDDLE AGED. I have caught up with myself. I went shopping with a friend last night and two lovely young ladies got in voice and gave me all sorts of advice about where to get free skins and free jewelry and passed me a bunch of freebies and landmarks. I graciously thanked them. As I said to my friend, they probably thought I looked like a hick because my boobs are kind of small, and I wasn’t wearing elf ears or showing butt crack. I’m clearly losing my edge.

I put together this look just cuz I like it. This dress was the first thing I purchased from a Fashion for Life vendor (one in a long string of “hits” at FFL), made by Umeki Yokosuka. Yes, it’s based on a template. She freely admits it. That doesn’t diminish her terrific work and the incredible styling and eye she has. I just loved this dress and its bold design and flirty flexi skirt.

Losing My Edge

I decided to wear deadly high fetish heels with the dress from Viktoria Brandenburg, who is the queen of fetish heels in Sl. These beauties come with a skin coloring hud which also allows metal changes, etc. My lolita ponytails are from Syndel Daviau, who has a flair for more fantasy hair. She has quite a lot of great hair for role playing and I really need to show more of it. These ponytails have color changers on the ribbons. Finally my skin is a group gift from Tricky Boucher (which you can still get at his store). Its great makeup and beautiful skin tone induced me to get a fat pack as a rez day present (which I will be showing more of soon).

Losing My Edge

I heard you have a compilation of every good song ever done by anybody….
I hear everybody that you know is more relevant than everybody that I know….
You don’t know what you really want…
You don’t know what you really want….

Hair: .::S::. Yuki – Onyx by Syndel Daviau for ::S::. – Secrets Hair *

Skin: -Belleza- Melissa Med group gift by Tricky Boucher for -Belleza-

Eyes: FASHISM ‘Sunrise’ Eyes – Deep Violet (L) by Ikon Innovia for FASHISM *

Dress: Smushyface: Vintage Stripe Print Dress by Umeki Yokosuka for Smushyface

Shoes: VvB 9inch COURT Platform Shoe BLACK V4 by Viktoria Brandenburg for VvB *

6 thoughts on “Losing My Edge

  1. Excellent, well, I’m just a few days younger than you, Harper, but you look good to me….. but what do I know, I’m not wearing elf ears either.

    Edge isn’t all it’s butt cracked up to be.

  2. Wow, that story’s shocking. What *is* the look that noobs think is sophisticated these days? I don’t travel in those circles, so I have no clue- but that’s fascinating.

    I’ll be 4 in a couple weeks – my first alt, Kaseido Loon, came inworld on 4/26. Here’s to middle age!

  3. Oh my god, I turned 4 last August, and its hard to grasp all the changes I’ve seen in 4 years in SL. But we have NOT lost our edge, we have gotten better. Harper you are gorgeous and stylish and sophisticated, don’t let those clone-like teenyboppers (how’s that for dating myself?) get to ya. You ROCK sistah!! LOL

    • Well I can only pull off what I can pull off. I just can’t do that other stuff and do it right. So thank you :) :)

  4. P.S Happy Rez Day!!! *hugs* Isn’t it nice to eat all the virtual cake and ice cream you want and still fit into those skinny jeans? hee hee =)

Leave a comment